FAQ

From Auto Uploader
Revision as of 22:39, 9 August 2013 by Aguilar (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search


Why the notification must be always visible?

The Android application headlines says that the user must always be warned that the application has a background service running. Auto Uploader shows that notification and allows the user to disable it.

In Android 4.3 Google has made some changes in the way that the application can start a background service and forced the application to always show a notification. If the application does not create that notification, Android itself will create one and show it.

The only way that Auto Uploader can start the background service and keep it running safely is showing the notification. If the user disables it, Auto Uploader will start the background service but the Android system can kill the service at anytime when it frees memory to allocate to another process. And the user will never be advised of that. Android will try to restart the service by itself after a time, but nothing guarantees that it will succeed.

So if you want to keep Auto Uploader running always safely you must keep the notification on.

My pictures are never uploaded

There are some things that can avoid the image upload.