Auto Uploader allows the user to automatically upload a photo to a online service. It runs in the background, monitoring the folder that the photos are usually saved. The user don't need to press anything to upload.
There are two versions of Auto Uploader:
- Free: it's free of charge, but with some limitations: only one service can be enable at time (the photo will be uploaded only to one service), some configuration options are disabled (i.e., the only in wifi), and the app will monitor only one folder (not configurable, defined to the default photo folder).
- Paid: without any limitations.
The free version will be updated as well as the paid, but with not the same features (no feature will be available only in free version).
Download & Install
You can download and install the app from the Android Market.
The first thing to do is configure the online service that will receive the photo.
These are the services available for now:
You can configure one or several. The app will upload the photo to all services that are configured and enabled, so you don't need to worry if a friend erases a photo in the device! ;)
It's possible configure more than one account in the same service. I.e.: you can add two Facebook accounts, but it must be from different logins. It's not possible (yet) add the same account more than once.
To start the monitor press one of the buttons for the service.
Each one of the button has one color, which means:
- red: the service is disabled
- yellow: the service is enabled (the app is monitoring, getting the geotags, etc.), but it's NOT uploading
- green: same as yellow, but uploading
When uploading a picture, errors could happen. In some kinds of error (i.e., permission for the app revoked in the online service) Auto Uploader will automatically set the state to yellow, and will warn the user.
If are some service enabled (green or yellow) an icon will appear in the notification area (if configured to).
When an error occurs the app creates a warning for the user. These warnings are available pressing the alert icon.
In the window that will appear all the lines corresponding to the selected service will be grayed.
In the menu you can access the setting options, an about dialog, clear all the pending uploads and clear all the alert messages.
The settings for each service are explained in the section of each one.
- Folders to monitor: the folders that the app will monitor for new pictures. In the free version only one folder can be watched. In the paid version you can add as many folders as you want. These configuration affects all services! To monitor some specific folder in specific service, there's an option in the specific service settings.
- Auto start: when checked the background service will start automatically when the device boots up.
- Service notification: when checked there will be a notification showing that the service is running.
- Upload notification: when checked a notification will be showed when uploading a photo, with a progress bar.
- Upload delay: time in seconds to wait to start an upload. This delay are useful if you configure the camera app to put the geotags in the photo, or if you want to do something in the photo before upload.
- GPS: when checked Auto Uploader will try to take the GPS fix for the photo. Important: the photo will not be touched! The GPS coordinate will be saved in an internal database, not as an EXIF metadata.
- Timeout: time in seconds to wait for a GPS fix. After these time the GPS fix will be canceled. This is important to avoid excessive battery usage.
- Only network: when checked Auto Uploader will use only the GPS fixed provided by the network, not the satellites. This option is faster and less power consumption, but less accurate.
- Only in Wifi: when checked the photo will be uploaded only when a wireless network is available. If you do not have a data plan with your carrier leave this option checked to avoid expensive bills.
- Delay if network error: time to wait for a new try when a network error occurs.
- Retries if network error: attempts to make until disable the service (put it in yellow state) in case of network error.